KOffice 2.0 has been released!

June 5, 2009

The long anticipated KOffice 2.0 release is now available for Linux, Windows and Mac users!  Be advised that the KOffice folks say that this release isn’t actually considered stable, and is intended for developers and early adopters only, similar to how KDE 4.0 wasn’t a stable release.  KOffice 2 is a port to the new QT 4 and KDE 4 libraries, and has a couple cool new features such as better KOffice component integration and the switch to using ODF as the default document formats.  (In contrast, AbiWord only supports ODT and will not use it as the default format.)

KOffice 2 feels much faster than OpenOffice.org, and has more features than Abiword.  I also really appreciate that ODF is the default format for KOffice as this means that compatibility with OpenOffice.org documents should be perfect.  My only problem with using KOffice is that the list of required dependencies is considerably longer than it would be were I using KDE in place of Gnome, as KOffice is designed to use the KDE libraries.  The installation size for KWord on my Dell Mini 9 running Ubuntu 9.04 system (with a 4GB SSD) is 160MB compared to 26.3MB for Abiword or 186MB for OpenOffice.org Writer.  Note: the installation size of KWord would be much smaller were I running KDE, and the installation size of Abiword would be much larger were I not already running Gnome.

The KOffice 2.1 release is currently expected to be out later this year, which should be more stable and more appropriate for everyday use.

Click here for the official KOffice 2.0 release announcement.

2 Responses to “KOffice 2.0 has been released!”

  1. Thomas Zander Says:

    Good post, thanks! I’m happy to hear you like the direction of KOffice2 :)

    The install sizes are a bit odd way of comparing; you are comparing a word processor against a whole suite of apps and you are starting with a system that already has various libs installed that Abiword requires. So the numbers are skewed..
    You end up calculating how much harddrive space it requires, and with terrabyte harddrives in the stores thats probably not the best metric ;)

  2. omegamormegil Says:

    Yeah, that’s definitely a fair argument about the install sizes, and for clarity’s sake, I’m glad you brought it up.

    I am running a Dell Mini 9 with a 4GB harddrive, and I’m coming from that perspective, so install size is a huge deal to me (I currently have only 480MB free space). I did note that I am not a KDE user, which is why I need so many extra libs to install just KWord. Also, I’m not sure what you mean about comparing a Word Processor against a whole suite of apps – I compared the install sizes of OpenOffice.org Writer, KWord, and Abiword (just the word processors, not the whole suites).

    It isn’t quite fair, I know, but it’s true for my system. It’s not a bad thing that KOffice requires KDE libraries. That’s how it’s designed to work, and I think it’s well designed. Abiword is small for me because I run Gnome, and KOffice is bigger because I don’t run KDE. How much space does KOffice take up on a KDE 4 system?

    I appreciate all the hard work that went into this great piece of software! I’ll clarify this point in my post.


Leave a Reply

