Shocker: John C. Dvorak has switched from Windows to Ubuntu

March 16, 2009

Don’t get me wrong. I’ve always been of the opinion that Dvorak didn’t give Linux enough of a chance. Even so, I was shocked by his glowing review of Ubuntu 8.10.

Ubuntu made such a good impression on him that Dvorak went from this:

Though the Linux community does not want to admit this, Linux has become a pale imitation of the evil OS it intends to replace. On some levels, Linux is better, but from most perspectives it is summarized as “not quite as good but a lot cheaper.”

To this:

…I seriously like the Ubuntu 8.10 implementation and will now install it permanently on my latest machines. It’s a winner…It’s so good that I’m a little annoyed with myself for not getting to it sooner.

I cannot wean myself off Windows altogether because, well, I write about Windows. But for ancillary machines that I put together where I need reliability and low price, I’m always going to see whether Ubuntu works. And if it does, that’s what gets installed.

If I had a small or mid-size company, I’d probably use only Linux and open-source software…

It’s about time.

For the full text of Dvorak’s post about switching to Ubuntu, just click here.  If you are considering trying Ubuntu but still need a little more convincing, here are the reasons I think you should be running Ubuntu:  A few good reasons to switch to Ubuntu.

Leave a Reply

